Get Adobe Flash player

Vital Statistics

Registrar:  Debra L. Shaw-Blemings

Phone: (609) 267-3217 ext.102

Email: dshaw@lumbertontwp.com

Deputy Registrar:  Monique Wylie

Phone: (609) 267-3217 ext.101

Email: mwylie@lumbertontwp.com

The Office of the Registrar of Vital Statistics oversees and administers the following:

Certified Copies of Vital Records that occurred in Lumberton Township – Births, Deaths, Marriages, Civil Unions, and Domestic Partnerships. The applicable fees are $15 for the first copy of a vital record and $5 for each additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time.  Payments are to be made via cash, check or money order.  Credit cards or debit cards are not acceptable. You may complete a Request For Certified Copy of a Vital Record Form by clicking HERE

Applications for Marriage and Civil Union Licenses; and Domestic Partnership Registration 

Entering into a Marrage or Civil Union in New Jersey Brochure

Application for License: Marriage, Remarriage, Civil Union, Reaffirmation of Civil Union Form

Requirements for entering into a Marriage or Civil Union: 

  1. Not be a party in another civil union, domestic partnership or marriage recognized by the State of New Jersey
  2. Be at least 18 years of age with exceptions for applicants under the age of 18 who may enter into a Marriage with parental consent. Applicants under the age of 16 must obtain parental consent and have the consent approved in writing by any Judge of the Superior Court, Chancery Division, Family Division.

Where to apply:

  1. The marriage/civil union license application is made in the New Jersey municipality where either party resides
  2. The license is valid for use throughout the State of New Jersey only
  3. If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit application in the municipality where the ceremony will be performed, the license is valid only in the issuing municipality
  4. All three parties, couple and witness, must appear before the Registrar together to submit the application

Required documents and information when applying for a marriage license:

  1. Valid Photo ID – driver’s license, passport or state/federal ID with current address listed
  2. Social Security number (required by law for all US citizens and will be kept confidential)
  3. A witness, 18 years of age or older
  4. $28 application fee (Cash or checks only; credit or debit cards are not accepted)
  5. If divorced or had a previous civil union dissolved or annulled, or domestic partnership terminated, please know the date and county the legal dissolution was recorded
  6. If a former spouse, civil union or domestic partner is deceased, please bring a certified copy of the death certificate

    NOTE: Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation

After application:

There is a 72-hour waiting period before a license may be issued. The waiting period begins when the application is filed with the Local Registrar.

There must be a ceremony to solemnize the marriage or civil union presided over by any minister of any religion, any New Jersey Judge, Surrogate, County Clerk or Mayor

Remarriage and Reaffirmation of Civil Union applications require no 72 hour waiting period, however you must bring a certified copy of your existing marriage/civil union certificate

The application is valid for six (6) months, however upon issuance, the license is valid for thirty (30) days.  If the license expires before being used, a new application must be filed and another $28 fee remitted.